The Webapp Cat

cross-platform • open source • apps developer

Silex bug report, how to

What?! A bug?! No way!!

Since Silex v2 is out, we have had an increasing number of bug reports, by email, twitter, facebook, the old forums, and I even have had some delivered by SMS :D

This is good thank you! because we have re-written Silex from the ground up, generating a good number of new bugs, and also changing the way Silex is used. It shows that the community is moving to the new version and that we have new members too :)

But the way people report bugs, has to be explained, because it is not natural and yet it is important that developers can handle this input in good conditions.

How do developers expect me to report a bug?

Also, we have decided to abandon the old forums and the traditional bug tracking software.

Where should I talk about a bug I have?

I'm going to answer these questions here

Silex bug report, how to

Where should I talk about a bug I have?

Where to discuss a bug when you have an issue, wether you believe it is a bug or not, please use Silex issue tracker, to see if this issue or bug has already been discussed.

Also, if the answer is not there, or if you are still not sure about what to think, we will be happy to answer your questions on the social networks of Silex Labs:

After that, when you have been taken care of, we expect you to give a little time to ask your question and the answer with it here to add it to the knowledge base.

How do developers expect me to report a bug?

I have found an interesting article about how to report a bug.

As far as I am concerned I often ask users to give me the following info. I also write examples of info reported by Antonin, a great bug reporter ;)

1. Context

What OS, what browser, ... For example:

2. What you do to reproduce this bug

Described each step. For example:

3. What you see when the bug occurs

4. What do you expect to see

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
G
I really like your writing style, great information, thankyou for posting.
Reply